Why Landing Pages Are So Important
te">Posted May 18, 2009We often hear how important keywords are in Search Marketing. But equally as important is the message to your prospects as portrayed by your web page that they click through to.
Many times your home page is not the best page to send your customers.
Depending on the keyword that was clicked, there may be a more relevant page to send your prospects other than the home page. In many cases the best option is to add new content pages onto your site related to these specific keywords.
Landing Page Optimization
There are many characteristics of a good landing page, such as a strong call to action, focus, and consistency. Some factors depend upon what your marketing goals are. Internet marketing is suited best for direct marketing to businesses and consumers. There is a specific goal you want your prospects to do while visiting your site. Whether it is filling out a form, sending an email, or buying something from your store. Because these actions can be accurately measured, it is possible, though testing, to significantly improve your conversion rate, even on well converting campaigns.
The Power of a 2 Percent Improvement in Conversion
Say that you get 1,000 clicks for $1 per click so your cost is $1000. (You may pay less than $1.00 per click as well. In which case you would get many more clicks for the $1000 spend.) From these 1000 clicks, you make 30 sales, so you have a conversion rate is equal to 3 percent. Each sale nets you $200, so you make a return of $200x30 = $6,000 minus the ad spend of $1000 = $5000 profit.
Say that instead of 30 sales, your optimize your landing pages, which results in 50 sales from those clicks. Your conversion rate is then equal to 5 percent. Each sale nets you $200, so you make a return of $200x50 = $10,000 minus the ad spend of $1000 = $9000 profit. A 2% increase in conversion rate results in a huge increase, almost doubling in profits. This cannot be stated strongly enough.
The above scenario is a hypothetical example, but is typical for many businesses. Not all offers or web sites will have these results, however, it is not unusual for Internet marketing campaigns to have a much higher conversion rate as well.
One of the services that we offer is helping the small and mid-sized business develop web pages specifically suited for drawing your best customers.

